HomeBreaking2 more have resigned from the COPE committee bringing the total to...

    2 more have resigned from the COPE committee bringing the total to 10

    Two more MPs have resigned from the Committee on Public Enterprises or COPE Committee.

    They are National People’s Power (NPP) leader Anura Kumara Dissanayake and Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) Member of Parliament Duminda Dissanayake.

    In writing his resignation to the Speaker, the SLFP MP said that he decided to withdraw from the COPE Committee as he no longer has confidence in the transparency of the public.

    10 new members including Eran Wickramaratne, Gamini Waleboda, Professor Charitha Herath, Dayasiri Jayasekara, SM Marikkar, Hesha Withanage, Shanakian Rasamanikkam, and Wasantha Yapa Bandara have left the committee protesting against the appointment of Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna Member of Parliament Mr. Rohitha Abeygunawardena as the chairman of the COP committee.

    Mr. Abeygunawardena was elected as the new chairman of the committee by majority vote in the first COPE meeting of the fifth session of the Ninth Parliament which was convened on March 7th.

    His name was proposed by the Member of Parliament Mahindananda Aluthgamage and confirmed by the Member of Parliament Sanjeeva Edirimanna.

    Wasantha Yapa Bandara’s name was announced as a COPE committee member shortly after the parliamentary session began this morning, but the MP immediately announced his resignation.

    Join our WhatsApp Group to get the latest News Updates right into your device.

    What do you think?