HomeBreakingCeylon wins the CWCQ '23 championship against the Dutch

    Ceylon wins the CWCQ ’23 championship against the Dutch

    Sri Lanka defeated the Netherlands (Dutch) team to win the Final of the World Cup Qualifiers tournament today (09) evening.

    The Sri Lankan team defeated the Netherlands by 128 runs in the final match held at Harare Stadium in Zimbabwe. In this match, the Dutch team won the toss, and let the Sri Lankan team bat first.

    Due to the skillful bowling of the Dutch players, the Sri Lankan team could not create a big scoreboard. Accordingly, Sri Lanka’s innings was limited to 233 runs. The situation of the Sri Lankan team could be worse if the Dutch players had not lost a few catches.

    However, the Sri Lankan bowlers managed to bowl out the Dutch players for 105 runs who were chasing a target of 244 runs. Dilshan Madushanka, who won the man of the match award, took 3 wickets for 18 runs.

    Mahesh Thiekshana, who was among the wickets throughout the tournament, took 4 wickets for 31 runs in 6.3 overs. The man of the series was given to Zimbabwe player Sean Williams who scored 600 runs and took 3 wickets.

    Sri Lanka managed to win all the matches they participated in this tournament, and in the final, they defeated the Dutch team who qualified for this year’s World Cup.

    Wanindu Hasaranga became the highest wicket-taker in this tournament with 22 wickets. Mahesh Thikshana, who took 21 wickets, got second place. The second place among the top-scoring batsmen was held by Pathum Nishankata.

    Sri Lanka 233/10 (47.5)

    Netherlands 105/10 (23.3)

    Join our WhatsApp Group to get the latest News Updates right into your device.


    What do you think?

    %d bloggers like this: