HomeBreaking8 MPs have resigned from the COPE committee - More to follow...

    8 MPs have resigned from the COPE committee – More to follow tomorrow

    Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna Member of Parliament, a former COPE Chairman Mr. Charitha Herath, Samagi Jana Balawega MP SM Marikkar, MPs Shanakkian Rasamanikkam, Hesha Withanage, Gamini Waleboda, and Nalin Bandara have resigned from the COPE Committee.

    Referring to that, the MPs say that they have officially referred the decision to the Speaker.

    Samagi Jana Balawega MP Iran Wickramaratne resigned from membership in the COPE Committee earlier.

    Also, Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna, a member of parliament, Mr. Dayasiri Jayasekara, resigned today.

    So far, 8 MPs have resigned from the chairmanship of the COPE Committee.

    It is reported that these withdrawals are being made in protest against the appointment of Mr. Rohitha Abeygunawardena as the new COPE Chairman.

    It is reported that another group of members of the Parliament’s Committee on Public Affairs or COPE Committee have also decided to leave tomorrow as well.

    It is said that Member of Parliament Dilan Perera is also among them.

    Join our WhatsApp Group to get the latest News Updates right into your device.

    What do you think?