

## ශී ලංකා පුජාතාන්තික සමාජවාදී ජනරජයේ ගැසට් පතුය අති විශෙෂ The Gazette of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka

අංක 2369/08 - 2024 ජනවාරි මස 30 වැනි අඟහරුවාදා - 2024.01.30 No. 2369/08 - TUESDAY, JANUARY 30, 2024

(Published by Authority)

## PART I : SECTION (I) — GENERAL

## **Government Notifications**

## FILLING A VACANCY UNDER SUB ARTICLE 13 (b) OF ARTICLE 99 OF THE CONSTITUTION OF THE DEMOCRATIC SOCIALIST REPUBLIC OF SRI LANKA

WHEREAS, the Secretary General of Parliament has informed the Election Commission, under Section 64 (1) of the Parliamentary Elections Act, No. 1 of 1981, that a vacancy has occurred in the membership of the Ninth Parliament by reason of the death of Mr. **Sanath Nishantha**, who was declared elected as a Member of Parliament for the Electoral District No. 16 - Puttalam under Section 62 of the aforesaid Act;

And whereas, the Returning Officer, for the Electoral District which returned the said member was directed by the Election Commission under Section 64(1) of the Parliamentary Elections Act, No. 1 of 1981 to fill this vacancy as provided for under Sub Article 99(13)(B) of the Constitution;

And whereas, the said Returning Officer acting under Section 64(2) of the Parliamentary Elections Act, No. 1 of 1981 and in terms of Sub Article 99(13)(B) of the Constitution has made a return in form "M" set out in the First Schedule to the aforesaid Act, to the effect that Mr. L. K. Jagath Priyankara was declared elected as a Member of Parliament for the said Electoral District;

Now therefore, the Election Commission, in the exercise of the powers vested in the Election Commission by Section 64 (2) of the Parliamentary Elections Act, No. 1 of 1981, does hereby notify that Mr. L. K. Jagath Priyankara has



1A - G 41323 - 361 (01/2024) This Gazette Extraordinary can be downloaded from www.documents.gov.lk 2A I කොටස : (I) ජෛදය - ශී ලංකා පුජාතාන්තික සමාජවාදී ජනරජයේ අති විශෙෂ ගැසට් පතුය - 2024.01.30 Part I : Sec. (I) - GAZETTE EXTRAORDINARY OF THE DEMOCRATIC SOCIALIST REPUBLIC OF SRI LANKA - 30.01.2024

been declared elected as a Member of the Ninth Parliament for the Electoral District No. 16 - Puttalam to fill the vacancy caused by reason of the death of Mr. Sanath Nishantha.

R. M. A. L. RATHNAYAKE, Chairman, Election Commission. M. A. P. C. PERERA, Member, Election Commission. Амеек Faaiz, Member, Election Commission.

Anusuya Shanmuganathan, Member, Election Commission. Prof. Lakshman Dissanayake, Member, Election Commission.

At the Election Commission, Rajagiriya, On this 30th January, 2024.

EOG 01- 0224.